• Classroom
  • Online, Instructor-Led
Course Description

ISACA's Cybersecurity Nexus (CSX) certification program supports cybersecurity professionals throughout their career by assessing a candidate's abilities and skills at three progressive technical skill levels. Levels are differentiated by skills, not by years of experience. Each technical skill level is assessed utilizing a vendor-neutral set of performance-based exams measuring a candidate's technical skills, abilities and performance in the following areas: Identify, Protect, Detect, Respond, and Recover.

This official CSX Practitioner 2 course reviews the Detect domain. Students will learn the basic concepts, methods and tools used to leverage cyber security controls to identify system events and non-event level incidents. In layman's terms, CSX Practitioner 2 will help students develop the ability to serve as a first responder, following established procedures, defined processes and working mostly with known problems on a single system.

This course, along with CSX Practitioner 1 and 3, was developed using existing global cybersecurity frameworks as well as input from hundreds of subject matter experts. Whether a student is planning to write the exam or learn more about Cyber Security, this course is packed with study tips and practical exercises.

Students who register for this official CSX Practitioner 2: Detection training seminar are provided with the following resources and features:

  • Five Days of ISACA Training from an Authorized CSX Practitioner Instructor
  • Official ISACA Courseware for CSX Practitioner 2: Detection
  • Official ISACA Study Guide for CSX Practitioner 2: Detection
  • Six Month Subscription to ISACA's Official OnDemand Labs for CSX Practitioner 2: Detection

Learning Objectives

Over the course of five days, students will cover everything they need to know to succeed in the CSX Practitioner 2: Detection exam.

  • Traffic Flow Analysis
  • IR Resources
  • Attack Types
  • Attack Methods
  • Network Access Control
  • Virus Types
  • Worm Variants
  • Incident Identification Methodologies
  • IP Reputation Databases
  • Port Scanning
  • Host Analysis
  • Network Traffic Behavior
  • Malware Functionality, Spyware
  • Trojans
  • Rootkits
  • Viruses
  • Backdoors
  • NIST Roles
  • ISO Designations
  • Cert Designation
  • CSIRT Roles

Framework Connections

The materials within this course focus on the Knowledge Skills and Abilities (KSAs) identified within the Specialty Areas listed below. Click to view Specialty Area details within the interactive National Cybersecurity Workforce Framework.