National Centers for Academic Excellence

Last Published Date: 
December 5, 2019

The Department of Homeland Security (DHS) and The National Security Agency (NSA) jointly sponsor the National Centers of Academic Excellence (CAE) program, designating specific 2 and 4-year colleges and universities as CAEs in Cyber Defense. Schools are chosen based on their robust degree programs and close alignment to specific cybersecurity-related knowledge units (KUs), validated by top subject matter experts in the field.

Over 200 top colleges and universities across 44 states, the District of Columbia, and the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico are designated CAEs for cyber-related degree programs. For a list of designated National Centers of Academic Excellence, click here.